Cake Decorating Class

Recently, my friends Megan, Caitlin, and I started taking a Wilton Cake Decorating class through one of the local community college’s continuing education department.  The class meets for 2 hours each week, for 4 weeks.  After it is complete, there are 2 other classes that you can take to continue to learn more advanced techniques.  Our class is about teaching the basics.

This past week, our class focused on how to use piping gel to transfer a design to your cake in order to decorate it.  Prior to the class, we had to bake our cake, level it, apply the base layer of icing, and smooth it out.  (All of these things were demonstrated to us during the first class.)

So the first thing I had to do was gather all the things that I would need to make my cake.  This consisted of a cake mix, vegetable oil, eggs, water, a mixing bowl, and my 8″ round cake pan.

You then pour your mixed cake batter into the pan.  Our book tells us to fill it half full, but our teacher told us to fill the pan 2/3 full.

I became a little worried though, and was starting to question the teacher’s directions when I saw my cake in the oven.  I was terrified that it was going to spill over the pan and get all over my oven!

Fortunately, it baked up nicely and never spilled over.  Once the cake was finished baking, I flipped it out of the pan to cool.  Because I don’t have an actual cooling rack, I had to improvise.  So my makeshift rack is actually a broiling pan rack stacked onto 2 kleenex boxes. 🙂

Next we had to make our icing, do a crumb layer, color our icing, and then put on the base layer.  Unfortunately, I wasn’t thinking at all and didn’t take a picture of any of this.  But, here is my cake after getting the base layer on.

I then smoothed out all the lines in my icing and went ahead and decorated the sides, because I knew we would be pushed for time in class.

The design that we put on it was from our student kit.  It was a cupcake.  So we transferred the design, filled it in with the different colors of icing, and put a bead border around the bottom of our cake.

Side View

Top View

Everybody’s cake turned out really well.  Here’s a shot of mine, Megan’s, and Caitlin’s.

Next week, we’ll be designing some cupcakes and beginning work on learning how to do roses. Can’t wait!

5 thoughts on “Cake Decorating Class

  1. Pingback: Cake Decorating – Basics Class Final « becoming my ideal

  2. Pingback: Cake Decorating – Basics Class Final | Becoming My Ideal

Leave a Reply

