Granny’s Pecan Pie

About a month ago, we were having a family get together and I was trying to come up with something to make.  My grandmother doesn’t go to many of the big family reunion-type things anymore, which is a complete shame for many reasons, but is also a shame because everybody knows that grandmothers are the best cooks at a family reunion.  Anywho, I was trying to come up with something to make and so I decided to ask Granny for her pecan pie recipe.  (sidenote: Grandmothers can basically cook everything without even thinking about it.  So I just loved the vague instructions that I got. Or not.)

First I gathered all of my ingredients.  I needed eggs, sugar, margarine (or butter), Karo syrup, and pecans. Part of the reason that I decided to make this pie was because the pecan tree at Granny’s has produced enough pecans to feed the squirrel population of the entire county.  You can also use a bit of vanilla flavoring and flour, but those are really optional.

I mixed all of the ingredients up.  I did chop 1/2 cup of pecans to go into my filling.  I then used as many pecans as it took to fill up the top in a swirl pattern.

My next instructions were as follows: “I put it in at 350 and then I just shake the oven rack to see if it has gelled up.”  I will admit, this frustrated me.  I am very much a follow the recipe kind of gal.  Basically, I baked it for 15 minutes and then opened the oven and shook the rack to see if it still jiggled every 4 minutes or so until it stopped being jiggly (meaning it had ‘gelled up’).  I think it was in the 35-45 minute range, but I can’t be completely sure.

Despite not having a real recipe to follow, it turned out beautifully.  And it must have tasted pretty good too because it didn’t last long at all!

3 thoughts on “Granny’s Pecan Pie

  1. Pingback: Sweet Coated Pecans « becoming my ideal

  2. Pingback: Sweet Coated Pecans | Becoming My Ideal

Leave a Reply

