Sweet Coated Pecans

Remember how I mentioned in a post last week about the abundance of pecans we have right now because of my grandmother’s pecan tree?  Pecans are great and all, but they’re better when you turn them from a full of protein, semi-healthy nut into something fattening!  Of course, with my weight loss goals, I only make them this way when I am taking them somewhere because that’s the best only way for me to keep from eating the whole batch myself.

I was on Pinterest one day and saw this, which led me to a recipe on the All Recipes website.  The ingredients according to the recipe are as follows:

  • 1 egg white
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1 pound pecan halves

My ingredients are a little different because I read all of the reviews and made some of the suggested changes.  The first change was that, instead of using 1 cup of sugar, I used 1/2 cup of sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar.  I also traded the water for 2 tablespoons of vanilla extract.

After mixing the ingredients according to the recipe, I stirred in the pecans until they were evenly coated.  I then poured them onto a baking sheet that I had lined with foil for easy clean-up.

Don’t they look delicious all shiny like that?  And then I remember that it’s shiny because of the raw egg white and I’m ready to put it in the oven.

You’ll bake it at 250* for an hour, taking it out every 15 minutes to stir.  This keeps them from baking too much on one side & ensures a nice crispy coating on the whole pecan.

Once the hour is up, put them in an air-tight container and share with your friends!  (Sidenote: have a few for yourself before doing that because they are AMAZING fresh out of the oven!!)

Leave a Reply

