Healthy Vegetable Soup

If you’ve ever come to my sight before, you may have noticed a beautiful pot of soup in the middle of my banner.  Even though NC hasn’t seemed to have gotten a winter this year and it’s 75* outside, I’m still going to share the recipe with you today.

You begin with a bunch of celery, 2 large bell peppers, 2 large onions, spinach leaves, and 3 cans of diced tomatoes.  This time, I wanted to add a bit of protein to the soup, so I added lean ground turkey.

Begin by chopping the celery, peppers, onions, and spinach leaves and mixing them together in a large pot.  (This recipe yields about 16 cups of soup.)

Doesn’t it look pretty all mixed together?  Now it’s time to add the diced tomatoes to the mix.

Now brown your turkey in a large sauce pan.  I used the whole package, which was a 1.25 pound package.

Once you brown and drain it, chop it finely and add it to your pot as well.

Now, add water to your pot so that it just covers your vegetables.  I did this using my diced tomato cans so that I would be sure to get all the juice and chopped pieces of tomatoes in the mix as well.

Once that’s done, it’s time to spice this pot of soup up!  The only ingredient that my recipe requires is 1 package of Onion Soup mix.  However, I also like to add bits of parsley, garlic powder, red pepper flakes – and sometimes a dash of salt and pepper as well.

Once adding my spices, I cook it on medium-high until it comes to a boil.

Turn the heat to lowest possible setting on your stove, and let it continue to cook for about an hour.  Now it’s ready to eat!

When I put the plain vegetable soup recipe into my Weight Watchers recipe builder, it told me that my recipe was a total of 11 points.  However, I didn’t really understand this because every single ingredient that I put in said that it was 0 points.  2 large bell peppers: 0 points.  2 large onions: 0 points. 3 cans of diced tomatoes: 0 points.  I think you get the picture.  I get that I shouldn’t eat the entire pot at once, but I don’t see how, if each ingredient is 0 points, that it magically turns to 11 points (or 1 point for a 1 cup serving).

Adding the lean ground turkey does add 1 point for a 1 cup serving.  I usually eat 2 cups, which would be 4 points according to Weight Watchers.  But I don’t count the points for the vegetables because I don’t follow their logic on it, so I consider it 2 points. 🙂  Either way, it is a good, warm – and healthy – meal for any day….even if it is 75* outside.

Photobucket

3 thoughts on “Healthy Vegetable Soup

  1. Thank you so very much for linking up with Daphne and me today. I love vegetable soup, and I have a similar recipe that I cooked last night, but it does not have peppers. That may be something to add. Leigh

Leave a Reply

