Eyes to Yourself, Lady!

I will admit that my relationship with my gym is one of those love-hate things…..but mostly hate.  I have yet to reach the point where I love exercising. What I hate even more? Waking up at 5 AM to go to the gym before work.  But that is precisely what I did this past week. It was not a pleasant experience.

To begin, my normal machine was in some sort of broken state.  I walked up to it, all the lights are blinking on it, but the electronic screen says “off” and none of the buttons work. I tried turning the power button off and back on – no luck.  I asked another gym goer, who suggested unplugging it and then plugging it back in – no luck.  With time passing, I finally had to move to a similar treadmill on the other side of the gym. Big mistake.

After my 5 minute warm-up walk, I began my 28 minutes of jogging.  I begin stepping to whatever song popped up on my iPod shuffle when I hear this horrible noise taking over my song.  Oh, God.  It’s the treadmill.  It literally sounds like the machine is going to fall apart at any given moment.  Then I start to panic a bit.  If the noise is that loud to me with music blasting through my ears…..how loud is it as it echoes through this warehouse-style gym?  I considered moving to yet another treadmill, but I had already started on this one and really hated interrupting my workout, so I decided to tough it out.

And then Miss-I’m-gonna-start-running-within-10-seconds-of-setting-my-treadmill-in-motion comes to the machine right beside me.  As she begins running, she has the nerve to shift her eyes over to check out my stats.  I couldn’t believe she did that!  Maybe I am being too sensitive.  After all, I’m self-concious to begin with because I am a 200+ pound person jogging for long periods of time on a treadmill.  And, trust me,  I haven’t forgotten that my treadmill sounds like the screws are going to come loose and the whole thing is gonna fly apart at any moment, which is only adding to my self-conciousness.  But please don’t add on top of that by acting as if you are in some type of competition with me to see who can run the fastest or the longest.

I haven’t been going to the gym for long, so maybe I’m just not up on what is or is not proper gym etiquette, but this situation really irked me!  (It bothered me even more when she continued to do it for the remainder of the my 28 minute jog.)  What do you think?  Am I being too sensitive about it or should  people just keep their eyes to themselves?

2 thoughts on “Eyes to Yourself, Lady!

  1. It sounds like she might get her motivation by comparing herself to how others are doing – that’s not a very happy place to be.

    Try to focus on the fact that even though you had multiple factors that could have gotten you down (getting up early, first machine didn’t work, second machine sounded terrible), you PUSHED THROUGH it and accomplished your goal for the day.

    Way to go!

Leave a Reply

