Scavenger Hunt Sunday

I’m on the hunt again.  I didn’t cop out this week (like last week).  All photos are new.  This week’s prompts were: Vintage, Word or Quote, Nature’s Own, People, and Photographer’s Choice.

1. Vintage

So I decided to look up the definition of vintage and the first 800 definitions say that it has to do with wine or winemaking.  That does make sense with the ‘vin’ and I know that the word for wine is “vino.”  Anywho.  I’m not a wine drinker, so my picture couldn’t go that way.  But burried there as the 801st definition was that vintage referred to things that were ‘old fashioned; dated.’  So I stuck with the dated part.  One good thing about working at the courthouse is the easy access to all the really old documents.  This is a close-up of a page in our oldest Will book.  If you can’t read the heading, it says “July Fifteenth, 1831.”  I LOVE the script they used (even if it is hard to read sometimes).  I thought 180 years was plenty ‘dated.’

2. Word or Quote

I love C.S. Lewis.  I actually had already taken a few other possible pictures for this prompt, but I walked in somewhere tonight and this was laying on a table and I couldn’t resist using it instead.

3. Nature’s Own

I was walking on a trail through the woods, mostly looking for something green as ‘green’ was the prompt for my March Photo A Day shot yesterday.  It was then that I stumbled upon this little treasure.  This is the skin/shell left behind by a Cicada bug after molting.  It does kind of creep me out a bit, but I thought….what better for a Nature’s Own shot then proof of one of nature’s life cycles?

4. People

I will be the first to admit that I am more of a nature/scenic photographer than I am a people photographer.  That being said….I chose this shot of my friend and her 2 little girls.  It’s been in the 80’s all week around here, including yesterday when we were out for a walk.  Her oldest wanted to play in the water, so she let them wade in at the shore.  In this shot, she’s pointing out some “colored rocks” that are further in the creek to her mom.

5. Photographer’s Choice

A bee shot two weeks in a row!  With the unseasonably warm temperatures around here lateley, everything is blooming at a rapid pace now.  My neighbor has a Bradford Pear tree, and the blooms were stunning this week.  I went to take a few pictures and found this little one buzzing about.  I couldn’t resist snapping a picture of him.  Love this time of year!

Now, click the link below to go check out all the amazing photographer’s that participated in this week’s Scavenger Hunt!

10 thoughts on “Scavenger Hunt Sunday

  1. i found one of those Cicada bug shell thingys in my yard last fall… i kept it so that when friends & family come over & want to know what that sound is all about that you sometime hear….. i can whip the shell out for them. great find! not many ppl know this bug either.

  2. This is a great set of images. As a young girl I used to look for those cicada shells in the trees in our yard….so this one brings back some great memories for me. Thanks for your comment on my blog today!

Leave a Reply

