Birthday Cake Experimenting

Recently, a friend of mine asked if I wanted to make a birthday cake for her daughter’s 8th birthday party.  I am always welcome to the idea of getting more experience, so I gladly accepted.  She sent me a link to the plates/napkins/invitations for the party and I came up with a design.

She liked the design, and so I set out to make the cake.  I decided to make the cake a bit more fun by dying the batter to give it that rainbow/tie-dye look.  After mixing the cake batter, I divided it into 3 cups and colored it.

Then I poured the cake batter into the pan in a circular pattern until all the batter was used.  Doesn’t it look pretty?

I had to bake it for about 35-40 minutes and it looked really good when it came out.  I was excited!

And then this happened.

Luckily, I had an extra cake mix and so all was not lost quite yet.  I started over – this time I lathered my pan in Baker’s Joy spray to avoid it sticking – and everything worked out fine.  I baked a second layer and it came out great as well.  I then leveled the cakes stacked them together, and did a crumb coat to prep it for decorating.

After doing the base layer of icing in brown, I made all my other icing colors and decorated the cake based on my design.

It took about 2 hours.  When I was finished, I was honestly ready to scrape everything off and start over.  You see, I hate butter cream icing.  I don’t particularly care for the taste (it leaves a film in my mouth) and it is just a horrible mess to clean up after.  So I used a store bought icing that my cake decorating teacher assured me would be fine to use.  It was not.  I hated how it looked.  The base layer would not smooth out.  The decorating parts looked runny.  And so, lesson learned: I will always, always use butter cream icing in the future.

However, I did not scrap everything.  The finished product was nice….it just wasn’t as perfect as I wanted it to be.

The coolest part was cutting it at the party and seeing how the colors ended up baking together.

In the end, the cake tasted great and I was able to learn a lot through the experience.

3 thoughts on “Birthday Cake Experimenting

Leave a Reply

