It’s in the Little Things….

As I sit to write this post, I have a jukebox of songs running through my head.

“What the world needs now, is love, sweet love…”

“All you need is love, love.  Love is all you need…”

I think you get the picture.  What I’ve been realizing over the past few months especially is that love is not just about the grand gestures that are so prevalent in the movies and fairytales, but it’s about the little things.

Love is the way that you light up when I come home from work.  It’s as if your whole body radiates with excitement….like we’ve been away from one another for days instead of hours.

Love is the way that you choose to sit close on the couch while watching tv.  Not in the recliner or on the other couch, but close enough to be able to touch without being uncomfortable.

Love is you wanting to go places with me.  Whether it’s going to the grocery store or to the park to take a walk, you show me that you would rather be with me than sitting at home alone.

Love is sleeping in on a Saturday morning, feeling your nose snuggling into my hair, and hearing a contented sigh escape.  It’s as if that sigh says “there’s no other place I’d rather be than right here.”

The love you feel for me is overwhelming and crazy….and I can honestly say that I don’t completely feel the same way.  Yes, I do love you and you can make me happy even during bad times.  But I do not love you with an all-consuming love.  And that makes me a bit sad.  Mainly because I know that, no matter what, I will never find any man that loves me as much as my dog does.

Yes.  This post was about my sweet dog, Baxter.  Now that I’ve turned 30 and am writing blog posts about how much my dog loves me….I think I’m officially making steps towards spinster-hood!

Baxter as a pup.

Baxter now, 2 years old

Linking up with the Yeah Write Hangout crowd this week!

12 thoughts on “It’s in the Little Things….

  1. I think Baxter looks like a very cool person to love ~ and to hang with. Enjoyed your writing. Makes me think about those people and pets that I love.

  2. Oh dear Jesus that puppy Baxter is enough to make me want to propose to him. Especially the photo of Baxter at 2. Who needs a significant other when you’ve got Baxter?! (-:

  3. This was an awesome post about love with a big surprise at the end. I love those kinds of surprises. Especially with the cute pictures that make us all want to fall in love with him, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

