When ‘Life’ Gets in the Way…

Don’t you hate those moments when you feel like your life is just full of so much busyness?  That’s how I’ve felt for the last month or so.  I just have so many activities and other stuff to do that I feel like other things are just falling to the side and it makes me a bit sad.

Do I care that it takes a week to get my kitchen clean?  No.  Do I care that my flowers are half dead because I get home so late that I don’t feel like watering them?  No.  Do I care that I’m not getting to update my blog and/or read other blogs?  Yes.  Yes, I do.  How crazy is that?  I could care less about some of my real life things going undone, but it makes me really sad that I am missing out on so much within my internet community.

Trying to keep up with internet happenings is hard for me anyway because…..wait for it……I don’t have internet at home.  Well, I kind of have internet but only in the form of my iPhone.  While I love all that my phone can do, it doesn’t completely satisfy all of my internet needs.  So, basically, I only have internet access at work or at my parents’ house.  At work it’s always hit and miss.  Sure we have times where we get caught up and get online, but my lack of internet at home means I have a lot of things that I like to look at.  By the time I check my (multiple) email accounts and maybe facebook or twitter, more work comes in and I leave the internet once again.  After all, work is work…..I’m paid to do my work, not to play on the internet, so I have to do it.  Going to my parents’ house is not a problem…..but the whole busy thing that I have going on lately also means that I’m too busy to go and sit at their house for a couple hours just to get online.

So, I end up feeling like I’m losing touch.  I’m lucky if I can update my blog once a week lately.  The thing that upsets me the most about it all is that this seemed to happen right after I made the jump to my own hosting/domain.  I was doing so well with updating and connecting, I decided to leave the world of free blogging, and now I’m too busy to take advantage of the money that I spent.

Does this ever happen to anyone else?  Or is it just me?  What does the busyness of life get in the way of for you?

 

 read to be read at yeahwrite.me

7 thoughts on “When ‘Life’ Gets in the Way…

  1. Blogging is very important to me also. It is a way to express myself through writing. I love it and need it – and don’t feel bad admitting that. It is important to find the balance everyone talks about though.
    Why can’t you get Internet at home? I think it sounds like something you need to do as a priority if blogging is something you want to do.

    • It’s not that I can’t get internet at home I just haven’t so far. I am single and bought my own house, which I then had to furnish. After almost maxing out the credit card doing all that, it was the smarter to me to get those things paid off before I started spending money on all the extras like internet, cable tv, etc.

  2. I have been so busy lately that my blog has suffered from neglect. It kills me but there are some things that I cannot skip, like billing for my services. If I don’t bill, I don’t get paid!

    Don’t let it get you down. When you get your internet at home, we will still be here.

  3. Ugh. We did not have internet for this weekend and I felt like the world was ending. I was staring into my phone like it held the answers to all of life’s mysteries.

    My busyness is completely my fault. I take on too much, then I regret that I can’t give each endeavor my all. I have had to pace myself on social networking, because I could get wrapped up in it completely and, as much as I like it, connecting online doesn’t give me the same feelings of “connected-ness” that connecting in person does.

  4. Definitely! It will come back, not to worry. Think of it as part of a journey instead of one destination. Good luck getting your act together – I’m sure it’ll be before mind comes around.

Leave a Reply

