That’s so Pinteresting!

If you haven’t yet ventured into the world of Pinterest, I have some advice for you: don’t.  At least, don’t if you’re like me.  I love crafts and so I see things on there and have grand ideals of decorating every area of my home with what I see.  Unfortunately, I usually end up buying the materials and then they sit in a closet for 5 months (or longer) and get given away before they ever become what I intended them to be.

With that glowing endorsement out of the way, I thought it would be fun to start posting some of the things that I actually do make from what I see on Pinterest.  A little over a month ago, I was in the mood to spice my front porch up with some potted plants.  I didn’t want just a plain pot sitting on either side of my porch, so I searched Pinterest to find something cute.  I stumbled upon a pin that lead to some cute tiered planters at Positively Splendid.

I think that painting and stacking flower pots (or taking my cheaper route and just buying colored plastic pots from Wal-Mart) is fairly self-explanatory, so I’m not going to go through a step-by-step on that.  I’m just going to highlight the few things that I did to make the decorations for my flower pots.

The first thing I did was find a lid from one of my cooking pots that would match up with the size of circle I wanted for my letter.  Once I found one that was a good size, I flipped my piece of vinyl over and traced it.

For my letter “B,” I found a font that I liked on Word and then printed it.  I cut the letter out and then placed it onto my vinyl circle.  I put both on a scrap piece of cardboard and then used an exacto knife to cut my “B” out of the middle.

Place your vinyl as you want it on your flower pot, peel the backing off, and carefully adhere it to your pot.  Try to get all of the air bubbles out so that it looks nice and crisp.  This is what my flower pot looked like after I added the letter.

For additional decorations, I used a 1″ punch stamp to cut small circles of vinyl and then I also cut a slightly larger circle of vinyl (tracing the lid of my Pam Cooking spray).  After decorating the outside of my pots, I added soil, planted the flowers, and stacked them in the corner of my porch.

I really love them and think they add such a nice touch of creative color!

Leave a Reply

